NASS Superintendent of the Year

2018–19 NASS Superintendent of the Year

We are excited to announce that the application process for members to apply and/or nominate other NASS members for the 2018-19 NASS Superintendent of the Year opened February 1st and applications can be submitted up to April 1st. Selection of semi-finalists and the finalist will involve an extensive review and assessment of each candidate’s achievement level of the selection criteria:

* Outstanding achievement as a school district superintendent,
Demonstrated belief in continuous improvement, 
* Commitment to collaboration and mutual support in the profession,
* Promotes the success of all students to create a safe, nurturing, and effective learning environment, and
* Advocates for all students through a vision of equity and diversity.



February 1st - April 1st Candidates can submit application through the application listed on the website at Nomination Application.
April 1st Applications due
April - May 1st Selection Committee will meet to review the applications and choose finalists
May 1-15th Finalists will be interviewed
May 16th Announce Finalist and send press release
January 2019 NASS Superintendent of the Year will be honored at the national conference

Meet our NASS 2017 Superintendent of the Year - Dr. Michelle King

Dr. Michelle King, Superintendent of the Los Angeles Unified School District in California, has been named NASS Superintendent of the Year for 2017. Dr. King is a product of LA Unified, entering the district in kindergarten. She returned to the district as a secondary school life sciences teacher in 1985 and has served in a number of capacities within the district, including principal and senior deputy superintendent. She became district superintendent in 2015. Read more about Dr. Michelle King, NASS 2017 Superintendent of the Year

Other finalists for the award include Dr. Eric Andrew of Campbell USD (CA), Dr. Darrell Adams of Coachella Valley USD (CA), Dr. Ron Williams of Victor Valley UHSD (CA), and Allan Cameron of Wrentham Public Schools (MA). 

NASS 2017 Superintendent of the Year Sponsor - Ray Morgan Company


Past NASS 2017 Superintendents of the Year

2017      Dr. Michelle King
2016      Dr. Timothy Purnell and Dr. Cedrick Gray
2015      Dr. A. Katrise Perara
2014      Dr. James P. Capolupo
2013      Dr. Don Haddad
2012      Dr. Michael Richie
2011      Dr. Linda Chapman